Do you need help with your Wyoming DMV transactions? Use this guide to learn how you can simplify your DMV experience. Learn more about Wyoming vehicle registration, driver’s licensing, titling and more.
If you’re a car owner moving to Wyoming, or purchasing a car in Wyoming, you will need to know the basics of vehicle registration.
New Wyoming Vehicle Registration
In Wyoming, vehicles are registered in the county that the owner resides, through the county registration office. According to Wyoming law, anyone acquiring a new vehicle must register and obtain a license plate as soon as they become state residents.
In order to complete a new registration, you need:
- A copy of your vehicle title
- Your current registration from your previous state (if applicable)
- Proof of your insurance
- Your vehicle identification number (VIN)
- A copy of the dealer invoice if you purchased your cat at a dealership
- Your lease agreement, if applicable
- Payment for all required county and state fees and taxes (varies by county)
Wyoming Vehicle Inspections
Currently, Wyoming does not require emissions testing for vehicles.
Wyoming Vehicle Registration Renewal
Your county will send you a registration renewal notice to remind you that your registration is about to expire. In some counties, you can renew online; check with your local county clerk to see if they offer that service. To renew, you will need:
- Registration renewal notice
- Your current registration card
- Proof of your insurance policy
- A copy of your IRS Form 2290 if you have a commercial vehicle weighing 55,000 pounds or more
- Renewal fees ($15 for passenger vehicles)
Vehicle Titling in Wyoming
If you purchase your car from a licensed dealer in Wyoming, they are authorized to process your car title transfer. To get your title yourself, visit your local county clerk with your out-of-state title, an Application for Certificate of Title and VIN/HIN Inspection Form (Form MV-300A), proof of a vehicle identification number inspection, proof of identity, and payment for your titling fees. Titling fees will vary by county.
Driver’s Licenses in Wyoming
A Wyoming driver’s license must be obtained within one year of establishing residency. However, you must transfer your out-of-state license immediately if you are from any of the following states: Georgia, Massachusetts, Michigan, Tennessee, or Wisconsin. To get your license, you will need proof of your identity, proof of your Wyoming residency, proof of your Social Security number, and proof of your name change if applicable. You won’t have to take a driving or written knowledge exam if your out-of-state license is valid. However, you will have to pass a vision exam. Your license fee will be $20.
Auto Insurance Requirements
In accordance with Wyoming car insurance law, you have to prove financial responsibility for damages in the event of a car accident. You can opt out of uninsured motorist coverage in writing. If you decide to fulfill the legal requirement by purchasing insurance, you will have to purchase liability and uninsured motorist coverage, to meet the following minimums:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $50,000 for total bodily injury or death per accident
- $20,000 for property damage
- Same as the liability coverage listed above, to protect you from costs incurred in a hit-and-run or an accident with a driver who doesn’t have insurance
Additional car insurance is optional, but recommended. Property damage is not covered by the above.