If you need help with the Oregon DMV, then look no further! Use this online guide for assistance with your Oregon vehicle registration, driver’s licensing and other important DMV questions.
New to Oregon? Recently purchased a car in Oregon? Here are the basics on setting up your vehicle and licensing.
Oregon Auto Registration
To register your vehicle in Oregon, you will have to go to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in person. You have a window of thirty days to title and register your car. You’re required to title and register your car at the same time if you’re from out of state. You’ll have to have a complete Application for Title and Registration (Form 735-226), ownership documents, proof of a passed emissions test for vehicles from 2009 and newer, proof of a Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) inspection, and payment of all fees.
Oregon Vehicle Inspections
Unless they are exempt, all vehicles in the Portland and Medford areas require inspections every two years. If you are just moving to Oregon, you will have to undergo inspection prior to registration, and submit to a VIN inspection.
Oregon Auto Registration Renewal
Oregon residents are required to maintain valid registration on all vehicles by renewing the registration before the end of its cycle with the DMV. The DMV will send you notice before your registration term is up. You can renew by mail, in person, or online if eligible. Registration fees are between $43 and $86, depending on your county and the type of vehicle.
Getting Your Oregon Vehicle Title
The Oregon DMV handles title transfers and registrations. If you bought your car from a dealer, they will handle the title paperwork for you, and submit it to the DMV. If you’re transferring a title, you will need proof of your current vehicle title, an Application for Title and Registration (Form 735-226, an odometer disclosure form and all applicable fees (title fee is usually $77).
Getting Your Oregon Driver’s License
If you are planning to establish residency in Oregon, and already have a valid license, you may transfer your out-of-state license. Your DMV will waive the driver’s test if your out-of-state license is valid or expired for less than a year. You will have to pass a vision test and a written exam about Oregon road rules. You’ll also need to get your photo taken, and surrender your out-of-state license. Licensure fees are $60 for the license, $5 for the written test, and $9 for the road test if you have to take it.
Oregon Auto Insurance Requirements
In order to comply with Oregon’s car insurance laws, you must choose a car insurance policy. Oregon requires bodily injury liability, property damage liability, personal injury protection, and uninsured motorist insurance.
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for total bodily injury to others
- $20,000 for property damage
Personal Injury Protection
- $15,000 per person
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
- $25,000 per person
- $50,000 per crash