If you’re new to Oklahoma or have recently purchased a car there, here are the basics on setting up your vehicle and licensing.
New Auto Registration in Oklahoma
In Oklahoma, vehicles are registered in the county that the owner resides, through your local OTC tag agent office. According to Oklahoma law, you will have thirty days to title and register your vehicle with the Oklahoma Tax Commission. Before applying for your registration, you will have to get Oklahoma car insurance.
In order to complete a new registration, you need to:
- Present a completed Application for Oklahoma Certificate of Title for a Vehicle (Form 701-6)
- Present your out-of-state title
- Present your Oklahoma car insurance
- Provide your manufacturer’s certificate of origin
- Present an odometer disclosure statement
- Pay applicable fees (beginning at $96, plus taxes and any county fees)
Oklahoma Vehicle Inspections
Oklahoma does not require inspections for vehicle registration or registration renewal. Smog tests, as well as safety and vehicle inspections, are not required.
Oklahoma Auto Registration Renewal
Your county will likely send you a renewal notice to remind you that your registration is about to expire. You can sign up to receive notice online. You must renew your registration within one month after it expires, or you will be subject to late fees. You can renew your registration online if you are eligible.
You can renew by mail, online, or in-person at a Deputy Registrar’s office. To renew, you will need your registration renewal notice or VIN notice, proof of your insurance policy, and your renewal fee. Your renewal fee will vary based on your car and how long it has been in Oklahoma.
Oklahoma Vehicle Title Process
You are required to title your vehicle within thirty days of moving to Oklahoma. If you purchase a vehicle from a dealer in Oklahoma, the dealer will complete the title application and submit it to the Oklahoma BMV. To complete the auto title transfer yourself, you will need:
- Your original title
- Proof of a passed VIN inspection
- A completed Application for Oklahoma Certificate of Title for a Vehicle (Form 701-6)
- Proof of Oklahoma car insurance
- Proof of a lien release, if applicable
- Payment for any applicable fees (standard title:$11)
Getting Your Oklahoma Driver’s License
Oklahoma doesn’t require driving exams for new-to-state drivers, unless your out-of-state license is expired. You will only need to pass a vision test in that case. If your license is expired, you’ll need to successfully pass the Oklahoma written and driving test on state road rules. At the time of receipt of your license, you’ll need to surrender your out-of-state license. Visit the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety for a list of required documents needed in the licensing process.
Oklahoma Auto Insurance Requirements
Oklahoma requires mandatory liability insurance to help you cover costs associated with any accidents you cause or property you damage. You must have liability insurance to cover the following minimums:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $50,000 for total bodily injury or death per accident if multiple people were hurt
- $25,000 for property damage