If you’re new to New Jersey, or have recently purchased a car there, here are the basics on setting up your vehicle and licensing.
New Jersey Auto Registration
To register your vehicle in New Jersey, you’ll provide the vehicle’s title, proof of insurance, your Social Security number, an odometer reading, and payment for your registration fee and sales tax. You have a window of sixty days to transfer your title from out of state.
New Jersey Vehicle Inspections
Unless they are exempt, all vehicles require emissions inspections every two years. Some vehicles also require safety inspections. Vehicles that fail must rest within the time allotted on their Vehicle Inspection Report. If you are just moving to New Jersey, you will have to undergo inspection within fourteen days of registration.
New Jersey Auto Registration Renewal
New Jersey residents are required to maintain valid registration on all vehicles by renewing the registration before the end of its cycle. The MVC will send you notice before your registration term is up. The notice will include your renewal fee, the “renew by” date, a PIN number, and an envelope for renewing by mail. You also have the option to renew online.
Getting Your New Jersey Vehicle Title
The New Jersey MVC handles title transfers and registrations. If you bought your car from a dealer, they will handle the title paperwork for you, and submit it to the MVC. If you’re transferring a title, you will need proof of your vehicle insurance, and $60 for the transfer fee. You’ll also pay sales tax, unless the vehicle is exempt.
Getting Your New Jersey Driver’s License
If you are just arriving in New Jersey, and already have a valid license, you may transfer your out-of-state license within sixty days of establishing residency. Then, you will visit your local Motor Vehicle Agency (MVC) and:
- Surrender your out-of-state driver’s license
- Pass the 6 Point ID and residency requirement
- Pass a vision screening test
- Pass written and road tests (waived if your out-of-state license is not expired)
- Pay the $24 driver’s license fee
Your license will be valid for four years.
New Jersey Auto Insurance Requirements
In order to comply with New Jersey’s car insurance laws, you must choose a car insurance policy. You have the option of a basic or a standard policy.
- $5,000 property damage liability
- $15,000 personal injury protection
- Up to $250,000 for very severe injuries
- $15,000 bodily injury liability per person, per accident
- $30,000 bodily injury liability for multiple injured people per accident
- $5,000 property damage liability per accident
- $15,000 personal injury protection in a car accident
- Up to $250,000 personal injury protection for severe or permanent injuries