If you’re a car owner moving to New Hampshire, or purchasing a car in New Hampshire, you will need to know the basics of vehicle registration.
New Auto Registration in New Hampshire
In New Hampshire, vehicles are registered in the county that the owner resides, through the town clerk’s office. According to New Hampshire law, you will have sixty days to register your vehicle and obtain a New Hampshire license.
In order to complete a new registration, you need to:
- Submit the out-of-state title and registration if applicable
- Provide the lease agreement and lienholder’s name and address, if applicable
- Provide proof of residency
- Pay all applicable fees (varied based on your vehicle’s weight and your location)
New Hampshire Vehicle Inspections
New Hampshire requires vehicles to undergo regular inspections, comprised of a safety inspection, and an emissions inspection and smog test for vehicles from 1996 and newer. Once your inspection is complete, you will receive a sticker that is valid for the same amount of time as your vehicle registration. You must have an inspection annually, within 10 days of the end of your birth month.
New Hampshire Auto Registration Renewal
Your county will likely send you a renewal notice to remind you that your registration is about to expire. To renew, you will need your current vehicle registration, and your renewal fee. Your renewal fee will vary based on where you live.
New Hampshire Vehicle Title Process
If you purchase a vehicle from a dealer in New Hampshire, the dealer will complete the title application and submit it to the New Hampshire DMV. They will also submit the title transfer fee for you. To complete the auto title transfer yourself, you will need:
- A completed title
- A completed Verification of Vehicle Identification (Form TDMV 19A), if required
- $25 for the car title transfer
Getting Your New Hampshire Driver’s License
An New Hampshire driver’s license must be obtained within sixty days of establishing residency. The New Hampshire DMV doesn’t require driver or knowledge testing for new-to-state drivers, unless your out-of-state license is expired. However, you will need to relinquish your out of state license upon receipt of your New Hampshire license.
To apply, you will visit your nearest DMV location and:
- Provide your old driver’s license
- Provide a secondary proof of identity
- Provide proof of New Hampshire residency
- Pass the vision exam
- Submit the Application for Driver’s License or Non-Driver ID Card (Form DSMV450)
- Pay $50 for a new driver’s license
New Hampshire Auto Insurance Requirements
New Hampshire is among the states that do not have mandatory car insurance laws. However, you are required to pay for costs of bodily injury or property damage from any car accident you caused.
If you do decide to purchase car insurance, you must have liability insurance to cover the following minimums:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $50,000 for total bodily injury or death per accident
- $25,000 for property damage