iDMV.com is not owned by, endorsed by, or affiliated with any federal, state, county, or city government.

Guide to the Mississippi DMV

mississippi dmv guide

If you’re new to Mississippi or have recently purchased a car in the state, you may need to brush up on the basics of licensing and registration.

Mississippi New Registration

If you have just moved to Mississippi, you will have thirty days to register your vehicle. If you don’t meet this time frame, you could be looking at a $250 fine. You register in person at any Department of Revenue (DOR) with:

  • Your Mississippi driver’s license or other state-issued photo identification
  • The original vehicle title, if applicable
  • Your current out-of-state registration
  • An odometer reading
  • Vehicle registration fees ($14, and $15 for road and bridge privilege taxes)

Mississippi Vehicle Inspections

Mississippi does not generally require vehicles to get smog or safety inspections. However, if your vehicle has tinted windows you must undergo an inspection. Mississippi encourages drivers to pursue eco-friendly driving strategies.

Mississippi Registration Renewal

You can renew your car registration online in participating counties, by mail, or in person. Mississippi will send you a registration renewal in the mail before your current registration expires.  To renew in person, you can visit your municipal office to pay your excise tax. Then visit your county’s Department of Motor Vehicle office with:

  • Your registration renewal notice or registration certificate
  • Money for registration renewal fees – $12.75 plus any additional county-specific fees

Getting a Mississippi Vehicle Title

If you buy your car from a dealership, the dealer will manage the title and registration paperwork for you, and submit it to the DOR. You can fast track your application to get your title faster.The required documents are:

  • Out of state title and registration, if applicable
  • Odometer Disclosure Statement
  • Assigned title from seller, if applicable
  • An application for MIssissippi Title and License (available at your local county Tax Collector’s office)
  • Title transfer fees if applicable, plus taxes ($9 title fee, $30 Fast Track fee

Getting a Mississippi Driver’s License

If you are new to Mississippi, you must relinquish your out-of-state license within sixty days of establishing residency. You can get a Mississippi driver’s license in person via the following steps:

  • Submit an application for a driving license, if you don’t yet have a valid license
  • Surrender your out-of-state license
  • Provide your Social Security card
  • Provide two documents proving residency
  • Provide original birth certificate
  • Pass the vision screen test
  • Pass the written exam
  • Pass the road test
  • Pay the licensing fee ($24 for four years, $47 for eight years)

Mississippi Auto Insurance Requirements

Liability insurance is required for your vehicle in Mississippi. You must meet the following minimum coverage limits:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
  • $25,000 per accident for property damage

You can also choose to post a bond for the minimum coverage amounts or make a cash deposit equal to the minimum coverage amounts, if you do not want to buy policies that meet these requirements.