If you’re new to Minnesota, or have recently purchased a car there, here are the basics on setting up your vehicle and licensing.
Minnesota New Vehicle Registration
Minnesota requires that you register your vehicle in person or by mail. You must register within 60 days of moving to Minnesota if your current out-of-state vehicle registration is still valid. You can apply in person at the Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) with:
- A signed title or manufacturer’s certificate of origin
- Proof of car insurance
- An odometer reading
- Application to Title and Register a Motor Vehicle (Form PS2000)
- Your driver’s license
Vehicle Inspections in Minnesota
Minnesota ended vehicle emissions testing in 1999. However, the state does encourage drivers to be aware of pollution reduction efforts.
Minnesota Vehicle Registration Renewal
You will receive notice from the DVS to renew registration, and you will have to renew decals by the 10th day of the month after your registration expires. You can renew in person, online, or by mail.
Here are the Minnesota registration renewal fees:
- Filing fee: $6
- Technology surcharge: $1
- Online fee: $1.50
- Wheelage tax (if applicable): $10
- License plates if required: $6
- Registration tax: Varied based on year and type of your vehicle
- Passenger vehicles ten years or more: $35
Titling a Vehicle in Minnesota
You will need to get a title for your vehicle with the DVS within sixty days of moving into Minnesota. You will need to provide them with proof of ownership, an odometer reading, proper identification, the application to title and register a motor vehicle, and payment for the titling fees.
Driver’s Licenses of Minnesota
If you are just arriving in Minnesota, and already have a valid license, you may get a Minnesota license within sixty days of establishing Minnesota residency. You will have to present a valid license, pass a vision test and take a test about Minnesota driving laws.
To apply for your new driver’s license, provide:
- Proof of passage of the written and driving tests, if required
- Your out-of-state license
- Proof of identification (birth certificate, U.S. passport)
- Proof of secondary identification
- $25.25 for a new driver’s license fee
Minnesota Auto Insurance Requirements
Minnesota requires all registered vehicles to be insured to drive on Minnesota roads, and individuals must have proof of insurance to obtain a driver’s license. No-fault insurance, liability insurance, and uninsured motorist insurance must include the following minimum coverage limits:
- $20,000 personal injury for medical coverage
- $20,000 personal injury for loss of income
- $30,000 for injuries per person
- $60,000 for total injuries per accident
- $10,000 for property damage
- $25,000 for injuries per person
- $50,000 for total injuries in an accident