If you’re new to Arizona, or have recently purchased a car there, here are the basics on setting up your vehicle and licensing.
New Arizona Vehicle Registration
Arizona requires that you register your vehicle immediately after establishing residency within the state. However, they allow you to register and title your vehicle at the same time.
In order to complete a new registration, you will need the following documents:
- Proof of insurance that meets Arizona’s minimum requirements
- An emissions requirement form
- A completed title and registration application (Form 96-0236)
Vehicle Inspections in Arizona
Unless they are exempt, all vehicles require Arizona Department of Transportation emissions testing every two years, or if they were made before 1980, every single year.
To complete an inspection, you must bring your:
- Current registration
- Bill of sale if applicable
- Key for any locking gas caps
- Payment for applicable fees (between $12.25 and $25)
You receive documentation that your vehicle was inspected and passed, and the information is entered electronically with the Department of Transportation.
Arizona Registration Renewal
Arizona residents are required to maintain valid registration on all vehicles by renewing the registration before the end of its cycle. The Motor Vehicle Department will send you notice before your registration term is up. The notice will include your renewal fee, the taxes owed, the “renew by” date, the emissions requirement, and any outstanding fines. You can renew online if you have completed a vehicle emissions inspection.
Titling in Arizona
You can apply by mail or in person for a title for your vehicle in Arizona. You need to complete a title and registration form. You must also show photo identification. To complete a title transfer, you must have the seller contact the title transfer office, fill out the registration form, and pay a $4 title transfer fee plus registration fees and taxes.
Driver’s Licenses in Arizona
If you are just arriving in Arizona, and already have a valid license, you may begin the license application process online. You will also need to submit your completed license application, surrender your out-of-state license, present proof of ID and legal presence, provide your Social Security number, and pass a vision exam.
You will pay a fee, which will depend on your age and license type:
- 16 to 39 years old: $25.
- 40 to 44 years old: $20.
- 45 to 49 years old: $15.
- 50 years old and older: $10.
- Driver’s license valid for 5 years.: $10.
- Limited licenses: $10.
Arizona Auto Insurance Requirements
Arizona requires all registered vehicles to be insured to drive on Arizona roads, and individuals must have proof of Arizona auto insurance to obtain a driver’s license. Liability insurance must include the following minimum coverage limits:
- $15,000 per person.
- $30,000 per accident for bodily injury.
- $10,000 per accident for property damage.